Greetings!

Because You Can

Early Saturday morning, I ventured downstairs believing I was the only one awake, but I was mistaken. To my surprise, I found my nine-year old son sitting at the computer. He looked deep in thought, so I figured he was playing a game.

“Good morning,” I said.  “Are you winning?”

“Uh, no,” Aaron replied.

“Well, I’m sure you will be in no time,” I said encouraging him.

“Mom, I’m not playing a game. I’m writing a story called, The Moon Warriors.”

“Really? Why? Is it for school?”

“Why?” he asked like I had offended him. “Because I can, that’s why. You do it, so I thought I’d do it.”

After wishing him good luck with his story, I realized he had great wisdom for only being nine-years old. Because I can, that’s why…lingered in my head. Aaron was not concerned if he’d ever finish the story, or if any money could be earned from it, nor was he bothered by the fact only a few family members would read the story. He was spending time doing something that mattered to him and that was it in a nutshell.

What if we all learned from his amazing attitude? It’s possible too many of us only do what we have to during our time on earth, instead of what we could do…simply because it brought joy. On top of that, imagine if the way we used spare time helped others?

Thomas Jefferson said, “It is neither wealth nor splendor; but tranquility and occupation which give you happiness.” I agree with him. I imagine wealth and splendor would be wonderful, but not if I had to trade it for tranquility. I believe the best days are spent making a difference in someone’s life, learning about something new, or taking pause to be thankful for friends and family, plus I still have dreams for the future. Life is a one way journey either spent in a worthwhile manner, or not.

Take a few minutes and evaluate how your time is used. Are there activities, places, and/or people needing your attention? What is it that makes you laugh until your side hurts? Try something new, make your life an adventure, help someone…because you can, that’s why.

Click on the links below to possibly jumpstart your adventure. Maybe you’re a novelist, poet, hobbyist, volunteer, or it could be pottery is your thing. Most importantly, surf the Net and have fun!

Hobbies/Interests

Hobbies

The Craftman

Volunteer Match

Volunteer

WordPress

Pottery

Tips for Writers

Fiction Factor

Leave a Reply

