Beautiful by Design

The Noracast has been awarded the Liebster Blog Award! Who took the time to give the Noracast a shout out? None other than Jenn from The Blog Starts Here. If you’re up for a good time, then make sure to visit her outstanding blog!

It’s the dead of winter, a chilly February day, so to celebrate this award—I’ve indulged in scorching hot chocolate accompanied by my favorite things in the entire world…Dunkin’ Donuts!

Thank you, Jenn, for the lovely award. Now, before I devour my decadent donut, I must think of five blogs that rock this crazy world. Hum, let’s see…we know The Blog Starts Here is a rock star…

Hold up! Here are the rules: Background The Liebster Blog Award originated in Germany. Liebster means dearest or beloved, and Liebe is love. In accepting the Liebster Blog Award from Jenn, the recipient agrees to:

  •  Thank the person who gave them the award and link back to that person’s blog
  •  Copy and paste the award to their blog with these instructions
  •  Reveal the 5 blogs they have chosen to award, by posting on their blog to break the news (and/or tweet it!)

Hope those people in turn pay it forward by accepting and awarding “The Liebster Blog Award” to others they would like to honor.

Okay, the donut is dead. Time to announce who has been awarded The Liebster Blog Award!

Mysti Parker Unwritten

Cambria Hebert

C.S. Splitter

Nikki: Close Encounters With the Night Kind

Michelle: A Lil of Dis, A Lil of Dat Chelle Style

BEAUTIFUL BY DESIGN

I get it. A book cover does not make the words within any book better or worse—but, a striking book cover can attract readers. Color, or the lack of it, unique fonts, or maybe fonts that are arranged perfectly on that rectangle, and intriguing subject matter on book covers pulls me in. I love looking at book designs, especially since I’m writing the sequel to Guardian 2632. Cover ideas are constantly on my mind.

Hum…shall I use large or small fonts? Blasts of supernova spirals may be an option, or the subdued and elegant splatters of black and white could be utilized too since Guardian 2632 is science fiction. If I include the main characters in this sequel, Lindsay and Zane Grayson, I also must decide if I want them to look stylized or completely realistic. See? So many questions arise when book cover design takes place.

Have a look at these book covers. Do you think they are beautiful by design? I sure do! I need inspiration, so feel free to suggest a book cover that you feel is gorgeous. Are you planning on providing input for your next book cover? Consider the size and style of the font(s), colors used, how the background (negative space) is manipulated, subject matter of your book, if the cover looks too busy, your tagline, and if possible, get some opinions on various options before a “final” is approved.

As you can see, I like various designs, some of which have lots of color…others do not. I like bold fonts and ones which are sleek with bright color. It all depends how the designer puts everything together. Millions of book covers show themselves when this topic is researched, so be sure to enjoy all of the hard work that’s been done to get great ideas for your next cover.

Did one book cover catch your interest more than another? I’m really stuck between Black Numbers and The Language of Flowers as my favorite from this group.

I appreciate that you stopped by the Noracast. Come back soon!

No intent to violate copyrighted images. All images used to illustrate the beauty found in book covers.

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell

Black Numbers by Dean Frank

The Castings Trilogy by Pamela Freeman

Dust by Allison M. Dickson

The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe

hold still by Nina Lacour

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman   

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Prince of Tanith by Terry Mancour

The Runes of the Earth by Stephen Donaldson

Walking The Tree by Karron Warren

what the night knows by Dean Koontz

7 thoughts on “Beautiful by Design

  1. Language of flowers is pretty but kinda looks boring. Dust looks like it might be a good read.
    Covers are the first thing that grabs a readers attention so they are super important no matter what the old saying tells you.
    Personally, I want a cover to straight up beach slap me with awesomeness. 😉

  2. Hi, Jenn!

    I think it’s the blood red lettering against those pale flowers that caught my attention with The Language of Flowers. It’s like mixing danger and innocence…oh, who knows? I’m out there some times! lol I agree with you about Dust. It does look like a good read. Looking at hundreds of book covers sure makes me wonder what it would be like to do that for a living. I bet it’s a great job to have.

    Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Noooooo! I thought it was impossible to be jealous of cold weather! Now, I love glazed donuts…but that frozen glaze on roads is another thing. I-c-e….worst word ever!!!

    Artists? Well okay–I will keep your phenoms in mind! And thanks a bunch for your kind words.
    You are such a sweetheart. Hugs!

  4. Thank you Nora for such a fantstic award!! Your blog is looking fabulous and now I want donuts and hot chocolate!! LOL.
    A cover is very important – I agree. And there are so many ways to make a cover beautiful. I have no doubt that whatever you settle on will be fabulous.
    My cover designer, Regina Wamba is incredibly talented so if you want her info shoot me an email! Thanks again for the award!

    • Hi, Cambria! Your blog looks beautiful…and you are so GOOD at keeping up with new posts! That is not an easy thing to do. Occasionally, I crawl out of the laundry room and get a post up and running. lol Enjoy your Liebster!

Leave a Reply

