Accidental Hero/GIVEAWAY!

Danger—pain and suffering, mixed with excitement and enough adrenaline to kill an elephant is calling upon your sense of adventure. Let’s say, Jessie desperately needs your help, and if you fail to answer the calling…death will come her way. Are you ready to embrace this challenge and rush to sacrifice your life for another? Well, my all-time favorite heroes are the ones who’d do just that.

Ah, but things are never so simple. I love accidental heroes. These so-called ordinary men and women exist in their worlds doing what they are supposed to do, until a threat is unleashed that prompts a reaction from these people. Some folks reject the notion they could ever affect the outcome of a situation, others eagerly accept the new, completely risky endeavor dropped upon them.

Take a look at Jake Cottrell, the protagonist (and an accidental hero) in my latest release, The Twelfth Paladin. He’s a prime example of a person living a selfish existence, one who seeks out mischief and absolutely lives for adrenalines rushes, or as he calls them…smackdowns. Yes, Jake is a reckless character with a shady past and a family you would not desire, but he does have something special. Jake has courage and honor, yet they’ve been long ignored. After a death-defying Motocross accident, Jake is physically and mentally tested to see if he can rise above the wickedness around him and become the twelfth paladin in Micah’s (an angel) unit of supernatural warriors. He doesn’t seek out glory. No matter, it finds him anyway.

Another accidental hero I really like is Sam Deed (Vincent D’Onofrio) from the movie Happy Accidents (2000), which also stars Marisa Tomei. Sam is brave, determined, and a guy who never planned on having to endure such an adventure to find love. Although Happy Accidents is a science fiction movie, it’s actually more about the power each of us possess to change things.

From Moviefone: Is Ruby Weaver’s Mr. Right really an emissary from the year 2,470, or is he just a complete loon ball? This question is at the heart of Brad Anderson’s whimsical romantic comedy. The story opens with Ruby (Marisa Tomei) lamenting over her boyfriend Sam (Vincent D’Onofrio) to her shrink (Holland Taylor). In a series of flashbacks, the film quickly sketches Ruby as a neurotic with an unhappy track record concerning men and Sam as an oddball who is afraid of small dogs and has a barcode tattooed to his arm. But he’s nuts over Ruby, and at least initially, that is enough for her. Slowly, Sam begins to reveal his “past.” He tells her that he is from the Dubuque of the future and that he hails from a rare “anachronistic” family who believe that reproduction should occur the old-fashioned, fun way as opposed to the more popular cloning method. At first, Ruby is amused, until she realizes that he’s not kidding. After a series of arguments, he agrees to visit Ruby’s analyst, which yields unexpected results. This film premiered at the 2000 Sundance Film Festival.

Great news—GIVEAWAY! Ends March 27, 2012

Win a copy (e-book, print, or Kindle) of The Twelfth Paladin AND the movie Happy Accidents. Simply answer this question: Are you the type of person who’d become an accidental hero? Since I spend way too much time in the laundry room and grocery shopping…I’d definitely go for it. A little adventure can entice me anytime!

Still not sure if this giveaway is for you? Here’s the latest review of The Twelfth Paladin from Michelle. Her blog is A Lil of Dis A Lil of Dat Chelle Style.

“In all of my years of reading, I can’t say I’ve ever read a book about Angels and Demons. I tend to stick more towards suspense and horror books. Therefore, I was very excited to review The Twelfth Paladin and give myself the opportunity to break out of my reading comfort zone.

We start with the main character, Jake Cottrell, who is a rebel of sorts, if you will. Abandoned by his mom at a young age, living with an angry alcoholic father, it’s no wonder Jake takes to drinking, wild women, and motorcycle racing. However, during one of his races, he becomes injured and things will never be quite the way they were before his accident.

Have you ever had the sensation that things weren’t right? That there was an unseen force working behind the curtains, responsible for strange things or events? Jake deals with these very things as he is reconnecting with a “friend”, Davis Travers, now a successful heart surgeon. Davis, by any standards isn’t a very likable person. It’s a mystery to Jake how Davis managed to become engaged to the beautiful and mysterious Angie Helms as well as the tremendous success Davis obviously enjoys.

In the meantime, as Jake is skirting dangerously along the depths of evil, Micah, an angel, who is not on God’s good side, is sent to help Jake from losing his soul to the darkness. Micah is a likable character who has lost his faith in mankind after thousands of years. He’s witnessed the decline of human kindness and goodness towards each other. He is less than thrilled to be helping Jake and does little to conceal this fact.

I found myself mentally willing Jake to stop his actions as he stepped further and further into the darkness ruled by evil. At the same time, I found myself as curious as Jake as he begins to realize Davis isn’t playing an imaginary game. I became caught up in the action as Jake finds himself being pulled in by temptations which would appear to be too delightful to resist.

Nora Weston captures her characters with a vivid imagination. As you read, you can visualize the scene exactly how she describes it. You will find yourself rooting for the good guys, holding your breath, your heart beating just bit quicker during some of the more intense scenes, and completely caught up in this book!

I can say after reading The Twelfth Paladin, Nora has a new fan. I will definitely be paying attention to when Nora has a new book in the works. Don’t just take my word. Visit Nora and let me know what you think!”

________________________________________________________________

I appreciate the review Michelle! Okay, ready for a supernatural adventure with Jake Cottrell and a science fiction mission with Sam Deed? Enter the GIVEAWAY!

Thanks for visiting the Noracast.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Accidental Hero/GIVEAWAY!

  1. Hi Nora, just stopping by to show some love and sending you cyber hugs. I loved your book and I highly recommend everyone to read it.

    Have a wonderful day!
    Ronda

  2. Hi, Ronda!
    Thanks for the terrific review, cyber love and hugs…so sweet of you. 🙂
    I still enjoy reading your review of TTP!

    Have a great evening. (I’m watching Bush on HBO. They sound pretty good!)
    Hugs and love back to you…

    Take care,
    Nora

  3. Nora-
    I think this would be a great book to read and hope to get the chance to read it. I think the only way I would be a hero is if it is an accident. I am accident-prone so it wouldn’t be too far of a stretch. I love adventure and action so I think I would like it if I did accidentally become a hero.

  4. Hey Nora!! Just popped by to give you some love!! You need to come back on my site soon:) I miss you!! Love TTP!! I highly reccomend it too!!

  5. Hi ya, Nikki! I’ve missed hopping around on the Net SO much. 🙂 Kids, traveling, graduation stuff…OH MY! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll definitely visit CEWTNK and hopefully plan a giveaway soon. I love visiting your super fun site!

Leave a Reply

