“Between” By Cambria Hebert

Spring is in the air…somewhere. Here, in Michigan, in my neck of the woods it is still a bit too chilly for me. It snowed last week! However, that means drinking lots of scorching hot tea, munching on Twizzlers, writing, and, of course…reading is a must do since I refuse to weed while it is snowing. So, I finished up “Between” by Cambria Hebert, and I loved it. Take a look at what is soon coming your way…

Between by Cambria Hebert

Between (Heven and Hell #1.5)

Between is a Heven and Hell novella available in Ebook only. It details the life of Logan, Sam’s little brother, and what life was like after Sam left the place he grew up.

Release Date: April 20, 2012

Publisher: Otherworld Publications

Format: Ebook Only

Synopsis…

I grew up in a comfortable house with two parents and a white-picket fence. My brother, Sam, and I used to play with sticks in the backyard and pretend they were swords. There were always cookies on the table and milk in the fridge. Then, one day, things changed.

Sam changed.

Life was never the same again. Sam left. My parents abandoned him when he needed them most, and I was left to survive in a house that was merely a shell of what it used to be. Mom cried all the time and Dad expected me to fill the void my brother left behind. But mostly, all we did was pretend. We pretended that things weren’t messed up. We pretended that Sam never existed.

Until I changed, too.

Now, everything’s a mess and I’m so confused. It’s like there are two different people trapped inside one body—my body—and one of them wants out. I do things. Bad things and I don’t know how to stop. I’m not sure I want to. The only way I can be normal again is if I find Sam. He’ll know what to do.

He has too.

Here’s my review…

 “Between,” the new teaser to “Charade” by Cambria Hebert, allows Logan, (Sam’s younger brother) to add his frightful experiences to the “Heven and Hell Series,” which also includes “Before” and “Masquerade.” This novella transports readers to Logan’s hellish world where supernatural events lead to murder, and a beautiful—but deadly creature, pits Logan against Sam’s beloved Heven. A peek into Logan’s past makes it possible to understand why he sees the world as he does and why Sam’s sad departure from his family changed them all. A sense of doom found in Logan’s dark dreams, that are all too real, tell the tale of a boy who cannot stay home, but has nowhere to go…except to find Sam.

Although some questions are answered in this novella, more arise as I wonder how Logan will react to the lovely Heven, and will Sam be able to tell that Logan’s been poisoned by jealousy? Will Logan be smart enough to see Sam will not exist without Heven, or will Logan merely compete for Sam’s affection not realizing enough love dwells within Sam for them all? I’m hoping Heven is ready for a fight, because it will not only be Logan who is gearing up to destroy her.

Yes! “Between” is an exciting, fast-paced teaser that certainly fuels my curiosity about all of the characters involved in Hebert’s “Heven and Hell Series.” In “Before” and “Masquerade,” Sam was the character who most intrigued me, but Logan is a determined character to watch as well. I’m looking forward to reading “Charade,” and now that I’m acquainted with this series, I expect lots of excitement from dangerous situations, plus Sam and Heven’s romance will (hopefully!) explode in a realm of fantasy that manages to stay hidden in the world as we know it. 5/5 Stars

________________________________________________________________

If it must snow in April, so be it. My TBR list and hot tea are awaiting me! Off I go to choose another literary treasure. 🙂

Thanks for visiting the Noracast!

2 thoughts on ““Between” By Cambria Hebert

  1. wow, what a wonderful review. Your phrasing is rich and really rolls right through my brain. I can tell you are a writer. 🙂 I really loved this review and your take on Between. Thank you so much for your time and thought into this review. It has made my day.
    Oh, and Twizzlers are the BEST!!! And so is tea! Snow??? Oh my…. but you are right its a good excuse to not weed and to read!!!
    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

